Questions? Feedback? powered by Olark live chat software

Meet the UK Team

Philip Gearing - Director

pgearing@cultwinesltd.com

 

Philip Gearing has a broad wine investment knowledge base combining financial markets experience with fine wine expertise to provide a unique mix of skills ideally positioned for the investment services offered by Cult Wines.

Philip spent over 20 years in investment banking with some of the market leading firms including Goldman Sachs, Swiss Bank Corporation & Tokyo-Mitsubishi and therefore has both the technical & business skills required to develop the range of investment options that Cult Wines offers to its clients.

 

Philip has also spent many years in the fine wine market launching a specialist Burgundy merchants in the mid-90’s and was founding partner of Financial Wines in 2001 which led the way in offering on-line price transparency services to the International fine wine community.

When it comes to wine Philip's overriding passion is Burgundy, but his tastes extend globally searching for new and exciting Pinot Noir's to compare with the favourites from the estates of Dujac, Meo Camuzet & Chevillon.

 

Besides fine wine, Philip’s interests include both golf and tennis. As a West Ham season ticket holder whose first visit to the Boleyn Ground was in 1965, his decision to support the ‘Bobby Moore Fund & Cancer Research’ as Cult Wines’ chosen charity was an easy one!

 

Thomas Gearing - Director

tmgearing@cultwinesltd.com

 

 

Thomas developed a keen interest in wine throughout his formative years, whilst accompanying Philip on many trips to the Cote d’Or. Thomas was displaying an eye for wine from an early age, and even upstaged the esteemed wine professionals at Christies at the age of 13 when he spotted that a 12 bottle case of Domaine de la Romanée-Conti, Romanée-Conti 1959 had actually been reconditioned and not sold in the condition stated at sale. (Interestingly that case purchased for £16,000 in 2000 is now worth £150,000!).

Thomas initially seemed to be heading to the City and the financial markets following University, however with the investment wine market burgeoning and an opportunity to marry both his passion for fine wine with an investment based business it was an opportunity that couldn’t be missed.

Thomas has since formalised his passion for fine wine by obtaining the WSET Level 2 qualification with distinction and is continuing to study up to Diploma level. Similarly Thomas has continued to pursue his entrepreneurial flair and participated in Season 8 of the BBC’s ‘The Apprentice’, competing against 15 other candidates, eventually coming a close second. He was congratulated by free magazine pioneer Mike Soutar for his “very sophisticated business plan”, while telecoms entrepreneur Matthew Riley added that it was “one of the best-written business plans I’ve ever read”.

 

Aarash Ghatineh - Head of Sales

aghatineh@cultwinesltd.com    

 

Tom Turner - Head Buyer and Trade Sales

tnturner@cultwinesltd.com    

 

Jonathan Stevenson – Senior Portfolio Manager

jstevenson@cultwinesltd.com    

 

Sam Mudie - Portfolio Manager

smudie@cultwinesltd.com    

 

Daniel Ward - Portfolio Manager

dward@cultwinesltd.com    

 

Joe Alim - Portfolio Manager

jalim@cultwinesltd.com

 

Yong-Huei Wang – Portfolio Manager (ASIA)

yhwang@cultwinesltd.com    

 

Sam Earl- Digital Marketing Manager

searl@cultwinesltd.com    

 

Harmit Heer- Management Accountant

hheer@cultwinesltd.com

 

Ambi Nottra- Logistics Manager

anottra@cultwinesltd.com